Mama Geek

Isolation

Posted on: August 20, 2009

If the flu season hits this year, it is going to be a long fall/winter. Staying home for a prolonged period of time can get quite boring, especially if Squeaker doesn’t feel well. With her wanting to feed every 20-30 minutes or so, and feeding for about 15 minutes at a time, we spend the day upstairs with the vaporizer – now with Eucalyptus essence, thanks to my grandmother stopping by – and I try to catch up on my reading.

Reading: Drood by Dan Simmons. I have heard so much about this book, and I really want to like it. But it is long. L-O-N-G long. I had to renew it from the library and I am still less than halfway through. If I do not get through it by its next return date on Tuesday, I think I will have to give it up for another time. The story is intriguing enough, but there are so many chapters and excursions that do not seem to advance the plot…it is hard to stay with it for long when there are so many more enticing options.

Viewing: We really want to see District 9, before we are spoiled (because it will happen if we wait too long). My mom was planning to come over tonight so that we could go see it, but she has caught the/a cold as well, so we are forced to put it off until next week. We watched The Tudors Season 1 this week on Netflix via the Xbox, which was fairly good. It was more soap opera-y than my husband generally prefers, but we got into the historical parts and I want to watch the rest. We will probably wait until winter to get into the remaining seasons.

However, Top Chef is back on tv, so I am happy! I need to get inspired to cook something yummy for the weekend.

One week and a few days until vacation – which we all sorely need! 10 days of family time will be so welcome!

Leave a Reply

Pages

