Mama Geek

Belly Love

Posted on: March 19, 2009

I have now gotten to the point where there is no doubt I am pregnant, no matter what I am wearing. For awhile, there have been some shirts that make random passers-by wonder, “Hmmm, is she pregnant or just has one of those weird beer bellies?” Now, it is all baby belly – and I love it. I am still not so big that I feel hugely uncomfortable, as everyone tells me I will be, but do have to get some momentum going to get up and out of bed in the middle of the night. Of course, everyone has told me all sorts of things that have never happened – horrible mood swings, endless eating, leg cramps, end of all things fun – so maybe my belly will continue to stay at a manageable size for at least awhile longer.

I do get more belly pats now that friends and family have realized that they can usually feel something if they push my belly in a bit. Critter likes kicking back – I need to remember to find a local karate studio. I know some people hate when people touch their stomach, but I really don’t mind it. It’s fun, and I expect them to have more restraint when the baby has escaped and all that is left is belly fat. It is more unusual to be out and not have someone rubbing my belly now. I feel a bit like Buddha. With better hair.

I have to run, but posts will be coming later on discussing the following events:

– Glucose Tolerance Test, or Critter Does Not Like Orange Drink

– The Dentist While Pregnant

– Maternity Dresses: Not Nearly As Cute As The Empire Waist Dresses from TJ Maxx

Leave a Reply

Pages

